The Creative Muse, brings you the best in the Fantasy, Sci-fi, Horror, Romance, and Erotic genres.

Our Authors are some of the best in the business.  We have a variety of free short stories from children's fantasy tales to hot sexy romance and erotic escapades.

We welcome you into our worlds of adventure, love, terror, and imaginative alien universes.

Meet our Authors:

Melissa Douthit 
Multi-published Author of Romantic Fantasy

Here is what readers are saying about Melissa's books...

Quote from an Amazon reader review:
"It's good to read a proper Fantasy novel written in this century. They are getting harder to find with the increasingly blurred lines between genre descriptions. For fans of authors like Terry Brooks, PC Hodgell and Anne McCaffrey, this is an imaginative Fantasy that takes you into a well-developed alternate world."
Author Bio:
Melissa Douthit grew up in North County of San Diego, California. After graduating with a Computer Science degree in Southern California, and working for a summer at the National Radio Astronomy Observatory in New Mexico, she moved to the Bay Area to work at NASA Ames Research Center for a year and then at Lawrence Livermore National Lab for another four years. From there, she moved to Monterey, California, to work at the Naval Postgraduate School on a government project for two years. She currently lives in Salt Lake City, Utah, working as a software engineer. Since high school, she has been a voracious reader of books of all genres, with an emphasis in fantasy and science fiction. Her literary work is strongly influenced by her professional experience and includes many elements of her scientific background.

Jaq Hawkins, Multi-talented Novelist, Occultist, Lecturer, and Screenwriter
Author of stories in Occultism and Fantasy. 

Jaq D Hawkins is a writer who first became known through her books on chaos magic and nature spirits. She later began releasing fiction titles in the genres of Fantasy, Steampunk and Science Fiction.

She first became known as a writer on the subject of magic in the 1980s through articles in various magazines. Most notable was Mezlim, an American quarterly to which she became a regular contributor. Her first book, Understanding Chaos Magic, was published in 1996. Since then she has become known internationally to some of those within the occult and pagan subcultures as both a writer and lecturer on the subject.

She is the author of Spirits of the Elements series, including Spirits of the Earth, Spirits of the Air, Spirits of the Fire, Spirits of the Water and Spirits of the Aether. Each volume is on the subject of the elemental spirits seen to represent each element, as well as associations and uses in elemental magic.
She is also the author of Chaos Monkey, Women of Power: The Woman as Magus and is cited in Ramsey Dukes' work, Uncle Ramsey's Little Book of Demons.

In May 2005, Hawkin's first Fantasy novel, Dance of the Goblins, was published as the first installment of the Goblin Trilogy. It was re-released by Paganarchy Press in 2012 and quickly followed by the first sequel, Demoniac Dance. The third book of the series, Power of the Dance, is due out in 2014. Between 2005 - present she has spent much time in production working as writer, producer and director with her own film company, Goblin Films. The Goblin Films website states that a film adaptation of Dance of the Goblins is currently in pre-production. Funds to finance it are being raised by the release of two low-budget films, Graveyard Shift: A Zomedy of Terror and Old Blood expected to be released in 2014.

Hawkins was also one of the first lecturers at the Arcanorium College but officially retired from the position in 2008, although she still occasionally guest teaches as time allows.

Paula Shene  Inspirational Author of Ficion, Sci-Fi/fantasy, and Children's Literature.

"Yesterday is already a dream, and tomorrow is only a vision"

Paula Louise Shene took to writing after forced retirement. She is a former college administrator and business owner whose hours are now filled with caring for a disabled husband and ‘tapping away at the keys that take her away’ into a saner reality. She also writes children’s stories under the name Paula Shene. In addition, she writes under the banner of The Peacock Writers, a group dedicated to charity. PC Shene is her name for Sci-Fi/Fantasy.

Paula's Amazing and inspirational story,
 I have survived three strokes and two bouts of breast cancer.  I am currently physically disabled with Lymph edema. 

For years my husband has urged me to write books because my passion for reading was almost as great as my passion for him.  I told him I did not want to turn my love into a chore. My husband who was my slash and burn editor, now has dementia due to repeated blows to his head during a near fatal car accident.

My background has been eclectic - from stocking books in a local book shop to pushing laundry carts, being an administrative assistant to directing two departments in a college setting, owning a daycare and tutoring business to owning an office services business, working as a clerk in libraries and a library system to owning an on-line retail bookstore.

Back in the '90 I had attempted to join a woman's newsletter staff at a local church we had been attending in the Northwest but was never able to coordinate meeting times with my schedule.  The Pastor's wife called me and said there is only one opening left, no one wants to do it, we offer it to you but think and pray on it before giving me an answer - the job - interviewing one woman each month and spotlighting her life in a meaningful way.

I interviewed, prayed, culled, and produced almost three years of columns until my relocation to the Northeast.  From the first column until the last, each month as my husband 'proof read' and told me my grammar needed fixing - "you can't start a sentence with an And!" -  were snatched up and avidly read by all, not just the women, to my surprise and delight.  My love for writing was born.

 In 2005, a revisit by breast cancer caused retirement from my position as Library Circulation Desk at the county library system and my Sunday afternoon position as Library Circulation Clerk at the local library.  I had developed lymph edema and could no longer haul books, preparing to send them all over the world or receive them back into our system.  I could not sit at a computer for hours producing the paperwork needed for these same books.

I could not do housework!  There are blessings everywhere!  Thankfully, my husband picked up the slack and I again fought back into a lifestyle that would need to be accepted - somewhat limited, but not out of the game,
Each day progress was made as I was able to return to the computer for short periods to open my on-line store.  A project without end, each day still adding new used books to the inventory and spotlighting some of these books on e bay.

Our youngest son in 2008, faced an end to his marriage.  His daughter developed many fears from this upheaval and from this trauma, Mandy The Alpha Dog was born.  My son used his cartoon drawings to add to the humor of the story which actually covers quite serious topics - fears, mistreatment, overeating, obesity, biting, forgiveness, and becoming a winner.  This book initially was written to help a little girl overcome her fears, but, as friends and relatives read the story and the cartoons, we were urged to take our love of rescuing animals to the public and a publisher was sought.

Mandy The Alpha Dog, the first installment in The Chronicles of the K-9 Boys and Girls on Locus Street was published and released on June 20, 2009.  10% of our proceeds are to go to animal rescue leagues.

Emma Paul Romance and Erotic Romance Author.

"If you like brilliantly written fantasy and gloriously hot erotica then Emma Paul is the Author for you!"

Emma has been writing for over twenty years. Her writing career started by accident when she began to incorporate her personal journals into fictional short stories. Many of her erotica tales are published with Everynight Erotica a web based erotica magazine.

The overwhelming positive response to Emma's unique voice and imaginative short stories, prompted her to write a full length novel that she ultimately published with Renaissance E-books Inc. under their Erotic Romance line, Sizzler Editions.  Emma is known for her wildly creative writing style and ability to transform Erotic Romance into stories more on par with something written by leading authors in the mainstream suspense genre. 

Readers have taken notice of Ms. Paul,  "Once I started reading, I couldn’t put the book down.  However, despite its complexity, the storyline has a really fast pace.  It is moved along by the numerous plot twists and scene changes.  Each character draws you in and enhances the overall depth of the story.  Both male and female characters are strong, intelligent and dynamic."-- from a reviewer on Just Erotic Romance Reviews.

Join Emma, Melissa, Jaq, and Paula here on The Creative Muse
 and find out what quality writing is all about. 

No comments:

Post a Comment